OPI on Twitter OPI on FaceBook OPI on YouTube OPI on Instagram

Happy MAEFAIRS season!

MAEFAIRS is now available to report information for the FY2017 Trustees Financial Summary (TFS) and FY2018 Budget. Please click on the following link for access: CLICK HERE

Clerks, business managers, and Superintendents, on July 25th, 2017, the Governor’s Office has released an official memo indicating the level 1 – 4 reductions included in SB 261 have been triggered with the close of FY end. The revenue reductions for schools include two levels:

      • Level 2: A 0.50% reduction in special education, At-Risk appropriations, in-state treatment, school foods, adult basic education, gifted and talented program, and advancing agricultural education as well as a $10,000 reduction in secondary vocational-education.

      • Level 4: Elimination of the Data for Achievement Payment, a 47.68% reduction in the school Combined Block Grant, elimination of the FY 2019 Natural Resources Development K-12 Facilities state general fund appropriation, and a $500,000 reduction in secondary vocational-education.

Be aware, although the payments to schools will be reduced, the calculation of district general fund budget limits for schools will not be changed. The school general fund budgets will still include the appropriation/budget limits included in HB 2 and HB 191. This includes the full entitlement amount for the Data for Achievement, the full Special Education and At Risk payment amounts originally appropriated in HB 2. The combined block grant and new NRD entitlements do not affect the budget limits.

The OPI will adjust the payments to schools to reflect the reductions. How a school plans for this revenue shortage will depend on the needs of each school and is decided on a local level. There is an estimated per school payment reduction amount listed on the OPI webpage at SB 261 Estimated Payment Reductions.

 
The Compensation Expenditures Report is now available for districts to report
FY 2017 data. Where applicable; if your district added late hires to the 2016-17 TOE, you will be able to complete this report at this time. If not, the 2016-17 TOE will be available for additions once your district has submitted the 2017-18 TEAMS/TOE in October. 

NOTE:   Montana Teachers' Retirement System (TRS) and the Montana Public Employee Retirement Administration (MPERA) have reported that their Net Pension Liability reports will not be available until early to mid-August respectively.  The following links are available for TRS and MPERA:
TRS Net Pension Reports
PERS GASB 68 PAGE

 

Do not login with Citrix password information. Your user name is your first initial and last name, with no space between the two (for example: JDoe). If you have lost or forgotten your password, please click on the “Forgot Your Password” link. Enter your user name and e-mail and click on the Submit button. A new password will immediately be emailed to you.

Once you have logged in successfully, follow the steps below to access TFS/Budget: 

1. Click on the Data Entry tab 
2. Hover your curser down to the Trustee Financial Summary (TFS). Another menu box will slide open. Choose Step 1: Prefilled Data Verification (Districts Only).

Once you have verified your information on the Prefilled Data Report, you may move on to the other TFS and Budget steps. Special education cooperatives may begin TFS data entry with Step 3 and do not complete the Budget data entry. 

 

A completed, printed, and signed copy of the FY2017 TFS is due to the county superintendent by August 15. FY2018 Budget reports are due to the county superintendent within 3 days after the budget adoption meeting 20-9-131, MCA. School Districts must then submit both reports electronically to the Office of Public Instruction no later than September 15, 2017.


Other helpful links include:
TFS Instructions:
CLICK HERE
Budget Instructions: CLICK HERE

For accounting, TFS or budget questions

 

Kara Sperle at ksperle2@mt.gov or call (406) 444-3249

Debbie Casey at dcasey@mt.gov or call (406) 444-3096

Donell Rosenthal at drosenthal@mt.gov or call (406) 444-3024

Mari Haefka at mhaefka@mt.gov or call (406) 444-1960

Nica Merala at nmerala@mt.gov or call (406) 444-4401

Nicole Thuotte at nthuotte@mt.gov or call (406) 444-4524

Paul Taylor at ptaylor2@mt.gov or call (406) 444-1257

Kathleen Wanner at kwanner@mt.gov or call (406) 444-9852

Thank you from the OPI School Finance Staff!