Dear Emergency Management Practitioner,

Summer is an important time of the year for educators to participate in professional development opportunities, and during July – September, the REMS TA Center is pleased to offer two Webinar series for state and local practitioners in school and institutions of higher education (IHE) emergency management on key topics in the field.

The EOP Planning Webinar Series will include four Webinar events on topics fundamental to developing a high-quality school and higher education emergency operations plan. These include addressing access and functional needs, developing and implementing a Continuity of Operations (COOP) Annex, forming a school behavioral threat assessment team, and beginning of the academic year considerations for emergency planning.

The Adversarial and Human-Caused Threats Webinar Series will include three Webinar events on examples of these threats that school communities may face, and preparedness activities that can help schools and communities prevent, protect, respond and recover from these types of incidents, including bullying, online threats, and sextortion.

Each Webinar in these series will be one hour in length and begin at 2 p.m. Eastern/ 1 p.m. Central/ 12 p.m. Mountain/ 11 a.m. Pacific/ 10 a.m. Alaska/ 9 a.m. Hawaii-Aleutian. For more details on each Webinar, please see below.

You may register for one or both Webinar series at http://remstacenter.org/webinars/Registration1.aspx?webinarid=1075. You will receive a confirmation email upon completion of the registration process. If you have any questions about either the EOP Planning or Adversarial and Human-Caused Threats Webinar series, please feel free to contact the REMS TA Center at info@remstacenter.org or 1-855-781-REMS [7367].

We also recommend that you join our Community of Practice (http://www.rems.ed.gov/COP/Account/Register.aspx) and follow the REMS TA Center on Twitter at https://twitter.com/remstacenter for up-to-date announcements and details on each Webinar and related Twitter chats we will be hosting on these topics.

Please feel free to share this announcement with your partners in school and higher education emergency management. All Webinars will be available in archive following the event on the REMS TA Center's website at http://rems.ed.gov/TA_Webinars.aspx.

EOP Planning Webinar Series | 2-3 p.m. EDT (1-2 p.m. CDT/ 12-1 p.m. MDT/ 11 a.m. – 12 p.m. PDT/ 10-11 a.m. AKDT/ 9-10 a.m. HADT)

  • Friday, July 29: Addressing Access and Functional Needs (AFN) in School and Higher Education EOPs
    Practitioners from the K-12 and IHE communities and a representative from the California Governor's Office of Emergency Services will provide real-world scenarios of planning to meet the needs of students and staff with AFN. Smart practices will be discussed to help emergency preparedness efforts, such as how to integrate AFN needs into school and higher education EOPs.
     
  • Friday, August 5: Continuity of Operations (COOP) Planning and Developing a COOP Annex
    Participants will have an opportunity to learn from Federal- and local-level practitioners on the key considerations for developing a COOP annex, priorities for re-establishing essential functions, and training and exercises to validate the COOP annex and ensure all essential functions are supported. Federal perspectives on COOP planning will be presented by the Federal Emergency Management Agency.
     
  •  Monday, August 26: Forming a School Behavioral Threat Assessment Team
    Participants will learn how to form a behavioral Threat Assessment Team at the K-12 district or school level. REMS TA Center staff will present some of the elements that make a threat assessment approach effective, and practitioners will discuss how some of these elements have been successfully incorporated and implemented in districts.
     
  • Friday, September 16: State and Local Perspectives on Emergency Management Back to School Activities
    Presenters from state education agencies and local education agencies will share what they are doing to support districts and schools in developing and revising EOPs as a part of back-to-school professional development activities. REMS TA Center staff will share how we can support state and local education agencies in their efforts to ensure EOPs in their schools and districts remain up-to-date.

Adversarial- and Human-Caused Threats Webinar Series | 2-3 p.m. EDT (1-2 p.m. CDT/ 12-1 p.m. MDT/ 11 a.m. – 12 p.m. PDT/ 10-11 a.m. AKDT/ 9-10 a.m. HADT)

  • Friday, August 19: Integrating Bullying Prevention Efforts Into Emergency Management Planning
    This Webinar will provide participants an understanding of the connection between bullying prevention and emergency management planning, including the preparedness missions. Participants will have an opportunity to examine the available resources to measure school climate and learn how to incorporate bullying prevention efforts into emergency management planning.
     
  • Friday, September 2: Use of Social Media in School Behavioral Threat Assessments
    Presenters will discuss how recent technological advances have created additional considerations for behavioral threat assessments. Topics will include online threats and how they can be identified and addressed.
     
  • Friday, September 9: Incorporating Sextortion into School EOP Planning
    Presenters from the U.S. Department of Education, REMS TA Center, National Center for Missing and Exploited Children (NCMEC), Federal Bureau of Investigation, and Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention will discuss the latest research and trends related to sextortion of K-12 youth. Topics covered will include analysis of tips from NCMEC's CyberTipLine, details on Federal efforts to address the issue and provide support on the state/local level, and methods K-12 education agencies can use to prevent, respond to and recover from sextortion. 

If you have any questions on these events, please do not hesitate to reach out at any time. We look forward to your participation!

Sincerely,
The Readiness and Emergency Management for Schools (REMS) TA Center Team
Distributed by the Montana Office of Public Instruction
School Emergency Management Planning Grant